Ever since I tried Mott St’s pan-seared mushrooms in a pool of miso butter, I’ve been borderline obsessed with recreating this taste of nutty and silky nirvana. When Chicago Magazine finally published the miso butter recipe this past year, I kept my fridge fully stocked with butter sticks and miso paste tubs to heat and whisk into a creamy sauce that I continue to pour over anything my heart desires: popcorn, veggies, fried eggs… dude, I’d swim in a tub of it if possible!

Once again, the miso butter craving woke me up from a post-work nap. Hunger and wonder brought me to a journey with smells of melted butter, nutty miso, and tangy rice vinegar, sounds of sizzling mushrooms and searing ribeye, and tastes like a glorious awakening of body and soul.

Sizzling mushrooms will always bring me joy.

Tonight, I go to sleep happily dreaming of tomorrow’s leftovers and miso butter baths.

Ready to dive into the buttery deep end.