Chilly DC winter days are back this week, and all I want to keep me warm is a cup of decadent hot cocoa from Katherine Anne Confections! During a cold and windy morning in Chicago last August, I ducked into this chocolate boutique and experienced an intense sugar high from the sights and smells of assorted truffles, giant marshmallows, and pots of hot cocoa varieties behind the store’s counter. Katherine Anne’s Mexican Hot Cocoa topped with a giant salted caramel marshmallow = PURE BLISS. If Katherine Anne Confections ever considers setting up shop in DC, I’ll definitely become a regular and develop a marshmallow addiction. But for now, I’ll rely on these August 2017 memories to keep me warm in my DC office until the next reunion with this love of my sweet-tooth life.

Jars of assorted caramels lining Katherine Anne’s counter tops
Cocoa and literary confirmation that chocolate is good for your health
Mexican hot cocoa + salted caramel marshmallow = happiness in a cup
An apple A truffle a day keeps the doctor away 🙂

Katherine Anne Confections | 2745 W. Armitage, Chicago, IL 60647