After a crazy Friday night, my body was in desperate need of Saturday morning comfort food. Fighting through morning-after grogginess (okay, afternoon-after since I woke up a little past noon), I whipped up a batch of Lemon Pancakes following Sugar, Spice, and Family Life’s recipe and ended up with a delicious and refreshing breakfast in less than an hour. The smells of freshly-squeezed lemon juice, melted butter and vanilla revived me from weekend sleepiness as the batter sizzled on my cast-iron skillet (latest love of my foodie life), while the sprinkled powdered sugar, sliced strawberries, and honey drizzle made the escape from bed more than worth it.

Lemon Pancakes with Sliced Strawberries
You can never have too many strawberries or powdered sugar.
IMG_3638
Peace is watching honey drip over a fresh batch of pancakes 🙂

*Lemon Pancakes tip: make sure you have a lemon zester or cheese grater on hand, so that you don’t have to peel the lemon zest and spend 5 minutes chopping it down to tiny bits like I did this afternoon.

