During a conference in Montreal earlier this month, my boss strongly suggested that I experience the three C’s of Montreal: coffee, croissants, and chocolate. After running an all-caps “CHOCOLATE” Yelp Montreal search, I came across a chocolatier and creperie down the street from my hotel. As I browsed through the restaurant’s selection of crepes and milkshakes, my jaw dropped at videos of the ultimate chocolate experience: the melted chocolate dome.

Known at Montreal’s C’ChoColat as the C’Wow, this dessert is a dark chocolate dome filled with waffle pieces, brownie, gelato, crumble, mixed berries, and pecans. The server pours warm caramel sauce over the dome, melting the chocolate away and revealing the most beautiful centerpiece of sweetness you’ve ever laid your eyes on. With just a couple days left in Montreal, I wasn’t going to pass on the opportunity to meet the love of my chocolate-and-caramel cravings.

IMG_2312.jpg
Joining the Monday night sugar rush at C’ChoColat

At 9pm on a Monday night, I sat at one of C’ChoColat’s bar seats along the window and browsed through the menu to see if reason would convince me to settle for a one-person crepe and avoid a stomach ache (it didn’t). When I placed the order for the C’Wow and my waiter realized no one else would be joining me for the four-person dessert, he raised his eyebrows and double-checked if I was sure (I was). The waiter placed my order and came back a moment later with a bottle of water and a glass. When I said, “Oh it’s okay, I just need a glass of water,” he raised his eyebrows again and said, “Oh dear, I think you’re gonna need the whole bottle.” Gulp.

For the following five minutes, I was already breaking out in chocolate sweats as I texted a fellow DC foodie for reassurance and sipped on my survival water bottle to cleanse my palette and prepare for the C’Wow. When the waiter appeared with the chocolate dome, all my reservations of eating alone melted away as the waiter poured hot caramel sauce over the dark chocolate, which opened up beautifully and released a chocolate-caramel steamy smell in the air. I watched the liquids slowly drip over waffle and brownie pieces, fresh berries, and vanilla ice cream. Hello, love of my life.

Screen Shot 2017-05-15 at 6.40.30 AM
True love tastes like dark chocolate and salted caramel on a Monday night in Montreal.

As I took the first bite, I relished in the flavors of salted caramel, rich dark European chocolate, fresh and tangy berries, creamy ice cream, and crunchy crumbles. At that moment, my mind, soul and stomach were unaware of the loud crowds or passers-by: I was on a date with chocolate fate and loving absolutely every second of it.

IMG_2311
The waiter was right: I definitely needed the entire bottle of water.

Fifteen minutes later, I paid my bill and slowly walked home in the rain and wind. I collapsed on my bed with one of the biggest stomach aches of my life, thinking back to comedian Gabriel “Fluffy” Iglesias’ story about his son eating an entire chocolate cake before going to bed:

Fluffy: Too much cake?

Frankie: Yeah.

Fluffy: Was it worth it?

Frankie: HELL YEAH.

C’ChoColat | 1255 Bishop Street, Montreal, QC H3G 2E2, Canada

